Rule number one: Reifine your wardrobe (p.s sorry for my obsession with brackets in this post!)

I’ve recently moved into a new pad and strangely enough I have unpacked everything apart from my clothes which are still in laundry bags, I know, weird right?! Hold up, there is a reason for this, basically I don’t have a clothes rail or a wardrobe yet. Though it does feel a little frustrating only being able to reach to the top few layers of clothing, it feels somewhat liberating not to have such a vast variety to choose from. I’ve decided that when these clothes finally emerge from the misty depths of my laundry bags, I am going going to be ruthless, ruthless I tell you! Out with the old (clothes) in with the new (ideas and ideals at least for I have no money to buy new clothes at the present time!) I’m going to recycle (posh word for popping down to the charity shop at the end of my road) all the clothes that I feel no longer fit into my new fashion ideals :

1) good quality fabric and workmanship (obviously)

2)adaptable to my early 90s ‘Rodeo Drive’ look that I’m going for (it’s my new thing)

I’m going to recycle all footwear that has grown too tired, limp and worn, a lot of vintage items that quite honestly are not very nice no matter how cheap they were, how much you squint your eyes or alter the darn things. Most exciting of all I’m going to bin all of my old grey/white underwear, holey socks and laddered tights. Each time I go through this clearing out process (I do it each time I move house) little by little I am refining my wardrobe, and as the old saying goes: quality not quantity.

It really is good to have a clear out once in a while, I find it rather therapeutic, go on… try it! I find that clothes can be more than just garments, they hold memories both good and bad, they hold sentimental value which is perhaps why some find it so difficult to part with them. The way I like to look at it is that with every new garment you get to create new memories and so the more refined your wardrobe is and the more selective you are when buying new clothes, the less chance there is that you will have to part with any of them.

I’m a Darling xoxo

Leave a Reply

